New Athletics Advisory Council to Play Key Role in Deacon Club’s Future


Barry-FairclothInspiration comes from many places, but our Deacon Club staff is extremely fortunate to have a wealth of knowledge available to us in our Deacon Club Board of Directors and newly-created Athletics Advisory Council. Over two years ago we began exploring the interest of a new generation of leaders in getting involved within the Deacon Club in an advisory capacity.

We were overwhelmed by the enthusiastic response, desire to help our program and support our student-athletes, and the Athletics Advisory Council concept was born. On November 7th, the inaugural meeting for the Athletics Advisory Council was conducted in conjunction with the Deacon Club Board of Directors. The Council, comprised of alums, former student-athletes and community leaders gathered together for a full day of deep conversation and thought-provoking dialogue.

The Council was led by Rick Gardner (’96), a former football student-athlete who now resides in Raleigh, and Rick Maloy (’91), who lives in Winston-Salem. The Council has representation from over 9 states, 8 sports, and 14 industries. The future of the athletic department and the Deacon Club are in good hands with the guidance of this group, which is looking to create a significant, positive impact on our operations and fundraising goals.

The majority of the workload for Council members will fall into three “teams” that have been created to address our needs now and in the future. The Annual Fund team will focus on helping the annual fund increase membership and funds raised, increasing support for student-athlete scholarships. The Events/Stewardship team will work to enhance our events for Deacon Club members, including programming, overall experience, and stewardship. The Council’s third team, titled “Life After the Game” will be responsible for serving as a support network for our current student-athletes as they prepare to enter the working world. They will also serve as a resource for alums already in the professional realm.

The energy in the room never wavered throughout the day and we are confident that this inaugural meeting will positively impact the Deacon Club now and for years to come. One of the most exciting elements of the Council is that its members will work side-by-side with the Deacon Club Board of Directors. They will often meet together to share ideas and perspectives on a number of priorities and initiatives.

The Board of Directors is led by president Mike Lebo (MBA ’96) from Yadkinville, N.C. and Vice President Gaither Keener (JD ’77) from Mooresville, N.C. The Board also has a number of priorities that they will set their sights on for the coming year. The Board will remain focused on their main priority of providing guidance to the Deacon Club staff and department are a wide range of topics.

The benefits sub-committee will place emphasis on the membership levels and guide our staff in determining what motivates members to give, while determining what the ideal tangible returns on their investment are. The gameday experience sub-committee will help evaluate and share ideas around how our sports marketing department can create the best atmosphere possible for our fans, and in turn, create a competitive advantage for our student-athletes. The communications sub-committee advises our external communications team by reviewing and providing feedback on correspondence to our members. This includes updates on the progress of the Wake Will campaign, membership information and stories they believe will help inspire others to give give generously to our program and our fundraising efforts.

We are grateful for the leadership and involvement of the individuals that are part of these two groups. The Deacon Club staff looks forward to incorporating additional leaders to join these inspirational members in the future, as we continue to invest in the lives of our student-athletes and forward the mission of our athletics department. If you are interested in getting involved in either of these groups, please contact our offices via email at or over the phone at (336) 758-5626.

Go Deacs!




2014-15 Athletics Advisory Council2014-15 Deacon Club Board of Directors
Richard W. Gardner, Jr. (’96)
Raleigh, NCRichard Maloy (’91)
Vice Chair
Winston-Salem, NCAnil Atluri (’99)
New York, NYBrian Bach (’05)
Charlotte, NCSam Ballas
Winston-Salem, NC

Edward Balogh (’88)
Charlotte, NC

Sal Balsamo (JD ’93)
Charlotte, NC

Tori Boysen (’96)
Clemmons, NC

Bea Bielik (’03)
Massapequa, NY

Kendra Clabo
Mount Airy, NC

Scott Ferrell (’84)
Greenville, SC

Bobby Finch (’93)
Winston-Salem, NC

Paul Foley
Winston-Salem, NC

Raymond Harbert (’06)
Mountain Brook, AL

Allen Hobbs (’02)
Charlotte, NC

Jeff Hollingsworth (’00)
Winston-Salem, NC

George Jordan (’92)
Greensboro, NC

David Kahn (’05)
Brooklyn, NY

Christopher King (’92)
Charlotte, NC

Todd Lynch (’98)
Winston-Salem, NC

Doug Manchester (’06)
Austin, TX

Mark Northan (’94)
Charlotte, NC

LaChina Robinson (’02)
Atlanta, GA

David Slade (’98)
Chicago, IL

Bryan Shrader (’99)
Arlington, VA

Matt Smith (’91)
Greenville, SC

Anthony Tang (’11)
Winston-Salem, NC

Andrew Tucker (’04)
Charlotte, NC

Quintin Williams (’04)
Winston-Salem, NC

Mike Woodson
Winston-Salem, NC

Ira Williams (’01)
Lewisville, NC

Todd Werstler (’87)
Columbus, OH

Houston Clark (’15)
Student Representative






Mike Lebo (MBA ’96)
Yadkinville, NCGaither Keener (JD ’77)
Vice President
Mooresville, NCCarl M. Tucker III (’68)
Immediate Past President
Pageland, SCJimmy B. Strickland (’81)
First Past President
Winston-Salem, NCKenneth R. Budd
Second Past President
Advance, NC

Debby L. Reynolds
Third Past President
Greensboro, NC

Brad Kendall
Fourth Past President
Atlanta, GA

Jerry West (’60)
Fifth Past President
Advance, NC

Brian Heelan (’81)
Sixth Past President
Winston-Salem, NC

Costi Kutteh (’73)
Seventh Past President
Statesville, NC

W. Louis Bissette, Jr.
Chairperson, Trustee
Athletic Committee
Asheville, NC

John Bray (’64)
Hickory, NC

Warren Bridgers
Wendell, NC

Dwayne Brown (’91, MBA ’97)
Reston, VA

David Couch (’84)
Summerfield, NC

Chris Edwards
Belews Creek, NC

Julie Ann Hartman (’90)
Austin, TX

Logan Jackson (’72)
Winston-Salem, NC

C.J. Paul
Tarzana, CA

Wilma Pettyjohn
Winston-Salem, NC

Norma Ramsey
Great Falls, VA

Tom Townes (’85)
Greensboro, NC

Phil Waugh
Winston-Salem, NC

Dickerson Wright
Rancho Santa Fe, CA

Jeff Young (’72)
Winston-Salem, NC

Tim Mullen
Chicago, IL

Scott Pope
Kernersville, NC

Walter Parsons III
Pinehurst, NC

Dr. Alan Dickens (’87, MD ’91)
Raleigh, NC

Chuck Wall (’70, JD ’72)
Lexington, NC

Matt Crawford (’88, MBA ’00)
Austin, TX

Fred Robbins (’09)
Gulf Breeze, FL